‘Tis that time of year…

Tomorrow is the Spring Open House for Fleming College.  As a student leader, this was one of my favorite times of year: I got to meet amazing people and brag about a school that I loved!

This year (my first as a professional), I’m finding myself having mixed feelings. I am still looking forward to meeting new people and bragging about my campus, but this time also means that I will soon have to say goodbye to the incredible students I have had the pleasure of getting to know and work with over the past 6 months.

This really hit home this morning as I was speaking with next year’s RAs about the Open House and how it works (with the number of visitors we’re anticipating I need all hands on deck).  Don’t get me wrong, I am really looking forward to all the amazing things I know next year’s team will accomplish, and have already begun planning some pretty awesome changes, but I am going to miss the group I have now.

The funny thing is, ever since I finished hiring the group coming in next year, I have been so excited to begin working with them, but now that I’m faced with having to say goodbye to the ones leaving, I’m less than pleased. I guess that’s a feeling I’m going to have to get used to working in this field, with new students coming and going every year.

I also want to make a special mention to some of my residents as well: to the one who brings me a coffee just because; to the one who always locks himself out of his room (at least 2 or 3 times per day); to the one I had a little chat about respect with a few months ago, but who is now one of my most involved students; and to all the other ones I didn’t mention, who make every single day a little bit better than the last.  I wish you all the greatest success in life, and I hope that we were able to help make your college experience a memorable one

Leave a comment